Gingerbread Cake

Happy Holidays!  It’s time to bake and that is what I did on this last weekend before Christmas.   I made chocolate, peanut butter, coconut truffle-style candies, gingerbread cookies, sugar cookies, coconut macaroons, and one of my childhood favorites – Gingerbread Cake.

Nordic Ware Heritage Bundtlette pan Gingerbread cakes

Nordic Ware Heritage Mini Gingerbread Bundts

I used my Mom’s old recipe and my new Nordic Ware Heritage Bundtlette pan.  It created very cute and swirly little cakes.  I sprinkled the tops with powdered sugar and added chopped pieces of sugared ginger.

I will be using my new large Heritage Bundt pan to make an egg nog cake to share with family on Christmas Day.  And for those of you that are wondering if I’m still baking with booze…yes, I’m substituting the milk in the cake recipe with egg nog and whiskey!

Here is the old Gingerbread Cake recipe from my Mom’s collection, however, no booze in this one.

Hot Water Gingerbread Cake

Preheat oven to 350°

Use a 9 x 13 sheet pan

Prep pan with shortening and dusting of flour

Ingredients

1 cup molasses

½ cup shortening

½ cup sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp soda

¼ tsp salt

1 cup hot water

1 tsp allspice – cinnamon – cloves – nutmeg & ginger

2 cups flour

Preparation

Mix together shortening, sugar, eggs, molasses and spices.

Place the measurement of baking soda and salt in a measuring cup.

Add the 1 cup of hot water to the soda and salt; and then pour into mix.

Lastly, add 2 cups of flour and mix well.  The mixture is not super thick.

Bake at 350° for 30 minutes and test.  Let cool.  Remove from pan (if not doing the sheet cake.)

Served warm with whipped cream, ice cream, or a warm lemon glaze is most excellent.  To add a little kick, sprinkle with just a tiny bit of sea salt.

Note: Holy Smokes… in typing out the recipe I realized that I added 1 tablespoon (not teaspoon) of all the spices plus I added an extra dash of the ginger and cloves.  It tasted good and gingery to me – the way I like it.

Wishing everyone a good holiday season and a happy, healthy and wealthy New Year!

Respectfully,

 Susan

4 thoughts on “Gingerbread Cake

  1. Love your Mary connections…This one is a winner beyond…Thank you so much for including us in your thoughtful gifts!!! Tom in charge of your box of goodies…he did well sharing!
    Happy New Year and thank you for such a wonderful thoughtful piece.

Leave a Reply

