Brioche-good intentions, bad judgment

Good intentions…I had for making sweet little individual brioche rolls and tying them up with pretty kitchen twine and giving them away for Christmas…that was Christmas of 2011.   Well that Christmas plus another has come and gone…with another knocking at the door.   Bad judgment…I decided to use this expired King Arthur Cranberry Orange Brioche bread mix that I had purchased for this particular Christmas 2011 project…I couldn’t just throw it out, so I decided to test  it on Hubby– he’ll eat anything.

KA box mix eggs butter

King Arthur Flour cranberry orange brioche bread mix

The King Arthur people will not like this, since the mix had expired on October 3, 2012.  Come on now, that’s not too bad…it was just one year and one day over when I decided to do this experiment.  Here is the disclaimer – do not do this, it will not work, it could make your tummy sick.

KA box expiration date

Expired October 3, 2012

The orange flavored cranberries that came with the dry ingredients were not moldy and I did not see any black spots, like little flour bugs in the mix.   I was good-to- go, with just a few reservations swirling in my head.  The mix up was easy–softened butter, a little water and a couple of eggs.  I mixed, kneaded, and incorporated the orange flavored non-moldy cranberries.  I was also thinking that this might be a big waste of time, knew something would not work, especially when I saw the yeast….too old…won’t rise…probably turn into a brick…make a nice door stop…too hard for the birds to even peck on….all those kind of negative thoughts.   But hey, it was football Sunday and I wanted to bake.   Note to self:   One should not bake with negative thoughts.

mixed ready for first rise

Mixed, kneaded and ready for first rise

As for Hubby being my taste tester, this is the guy that goes to the local miscellaneous discount stores and buys the damaged boxes of food goods, with expired dates and tries to pass them off on me…so I wasn’t worried about an expired package of mix from King Arthur Flour, a very reputable food industry company.  Plus, I knew where this package had been sitting for almost two years.

first rise in prev warmed oven

Phase 1 – mix up and do first rise in warmed oven 1 1/2 hours

first rise minimal

rise is minimal….negativity setting in

Instructions were to place in pans for the second rise.  This was not successful.  Second rise should have been 30-40 minutes…I let it go for 2 hours…trying to turn the negativity around.

placed in pans for 2nd rise

Phase 2 – Not enough rise, but decided to bake them anyway – I’d come this far…

baked in oven

Phase 3 – Baking…smelled great, looked hopeful

The square one would be our taster (or doorstop).  Made the house smell very nice…trying positivity here.

cooled on rack

To glaze or not to glaze?

oh no-pan 6 brioch 4

Pan 6″ deep, brioche about 3.5″ – not enough rise

glazed taste good texture tough

Phase 4 – Glazed and sliced warm to taste

I used the glaze mixture that came with the box mix, adding some OJ and orange marmelade to punch up the flavor.  End result – the flavor was good and the texture was that of a very heavy scone.  The glaze helped a bit with overcoming the dryness.   We ate it and no one got sick.  I shared with the office…no one was impressed…tossed most of it.  It was another fun, but stupid, experiment.

Next time, I’ll use the brioche recipe from this beautiful book that Hubby gave me as a gift this past Christmas.

Bouchon Bakery Thomas Keller book

  It’s now time to start thinking about holiday baking, some new recipes and maybe a cookie and wine swap.

Respectfully, Susan

One thought on “Brioche-good intentions, bad judgment

  1. Have attended dozens of cookie, candy, and bread swaps but never heard of wines. What a great idea…..

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

