Grilled Vegetables in Filo

Since it is the end of the gardening season and the vegetables and herbs are bountiful and fresh, I thought I would try another recipe from my e-cookbook, Vegetarian-Simply Delicious.  The recipe uses filo dough…and I have issues with filo dough…. I find it hard to work with.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the buttery crunch it gives a dish, but for my man hands it is a little too delicate.

grilled veg in filo ready to serve on gold

Grilled Vegetables in Filo

Prep and cook time:  1 hour

Difficulty: medium

Cannot be frozen

Preheat oven to 425°

Butter four tart tins or ceramic ramekins

Ingredients:

1 onion, chopped

1 eggplant, sliced and cubed

1 red bell pepper, sliced into small chunks

2 zucchini, sliced and cubed

3 teaspoon olive oil

Salt and pepper

4 sheet filo pastry

¼ cup butter, melted

pan roasted veggies on counter

Mix vegetables, oil, salt and pepper together in a bowl.  Put into a large roasting pan and cook for 15-20 minutes, turning occasionally until golden brown.  NOTE – You can skip the bowl and put the oil directly in the skillet.  Add chopped onion and peppers  and  stir fry until  translucent.  Next, add zucchini and eggplant and stir gently and fry until all vegetables are cooked, but not mushy.  I used my deep cast iron skillet.

buttery mess with filo

Brush the filo sheets with the melted butter.  Lay the sheets of filo pastry on top of one another and cut into 4 squares.  Brush the upper layer of each square with butter and press lightly into the tins.  Bring up the edges and brush the edges of the filo with melted butter.

pan prep for filo

Place the tins on a baking tray and bake for 15 minutes until filo pastry is golden and crisp.

filo cups in oven

Spoon the vegetables into the filo cups.  Place a spoonful of yogurt in the center of each and sprinkle with chopped thyme.  Garnish with fresh thyme sprigs and serve.

grilled vegetables in filo on white

Optional garnish: toasted almond slivers; shredded cheese

As a garnish I did not think that the yogurt called for in the recipe would blend with this dish, but I was pleasantly surprised when I tried one of the ramekins with a dab of it on top.  The buttery crisp filo, filled with garden fresh roasted vegetables pulled together with thyme, was pleasing to the palate.  I just had to forget about the buttery mess on the counter and my frustration with the filo dough.

veg

This is a nice simple vegetarian e-cookbook to use.  Enjoy your seasonal vegetables.

Respectfully, Susan

Leave a Reply

