Fun and food fare at the fair

On the last day of summer in Maine the best place to be was the Common Ground Country Fair in Unity, Maine.   The weather was perfect and you could feel the change of seasons in the air as a cold front moved through.  This fair is sponsored by The Maine Organic Farmers and Gardeners Association.  It has become an annual go-to destination for farmers and artisans throughout New England.  You will not find fried dough or deep fried Oreo cookies at this fair.

Fair opener

There was organic fair food

Lamb bbq sign

lamb kebabs

lamb pita

fair food eggplant

fried chips

There was food and farm stand art

fair art caraved pumpkin

farm art 2farm art 3

There were beautiful garden displays

NorthOrchardsign

Johnny'selected pumpkins

Johnny’s Selected Seeds

http://www.johnnyseeds.com

Johnny's4Johnny's3

Lettuce art

There were fair critters

Poultrysign

Junior Exhibitors-the future poultry keepers

poultry3

Don’t have a clue what this is, but it got a blue ribbon.

poultryEnglishSussexSpeckled

Class-English; Breed-Sussex-Variety-Speckled

poultryRedRanger

Breed-Red Ranger  Variety-Meat bird – He looked mean and not lean to me.

There were creative artisans

Beyond Plumbing signbeyond plumbing art

Beyond Plumbing Sculpture by Master plumber – joekennedy@tds.net

garden faces artgardenfaces2

Garden Faces – Cowan@gardenfaces.com

madder root boothmadder root organic linens

madder root-hand printed-organic linens – http://www.madderroot.com

weaveorangemask

Weaving a Life – weave the true you

weavewhitemasks

Weaving a Life is a world mission to promote weaving as a pathway to peace

Susan Barrett Merrill of Weaving a Life is a person I have known for many years.  I was so happy to see her at the fair.  We met and became friends over 30 years ago in the wilds of Washington County, Maine.   As I got to know her and her family I came to appreciate her talent as an artist and weaver.  Those many years ago when we first met, our first home was lacking a window in a spot where I wanted one.  My husband commissioned her to weave me a window.  I still have that beautiful piece of art hanging in my home.  It is  titled,

windowforsusancloseup

A Window for Susan

http://www.weavingalife.com or susan@weavingalife.com

If you are into weaving, or thinking about it, contact her.  She has a nurturing soul.  Now, to weave the rest of this fair together….

There was fair hair, lots of people eating fair fare…

Fair hair

and, lots of…ahh…unique things to see…

funny cow

like this funny cow!

I believe this is the largest crowd I have seen in attendance in many years.  I hope you Mainers got to go and if you didn’t I hope you enjoyed some of the highlights from my perspective.  My feet were tired, but my organic spirit enlightened.

Respectfully, Susan

4 thoughts on “Fun and food fare at the fair

Leave a Reply

