Lemon-Limoncello Cake Idioms

“If I knew you were comin’ I’d’ve baked a cake. “  This was a hit song in the 50’s.   I knew I had company coming, so I baked a cake.  An aromatic cake presented on a beautiful elevated platter is a wonderful way to welcome folks into your home.   My guests usually agree.  I say, “Let them eat cake!”

Welcoming Lemon-lemon cake

Welcome to our home!

For my incoming guests , I had decided to make a lemon cake, using homemade Limoncello-homemade by Michelle & Mom~thank you again.

Lemon cake batter, lemoncello, cornmeal pan

Homemade Limoncello – Delizioso!

I also decided to spray the bundt pan and instead of flour use cornmeal to lightly coat the interior.  I thought it might add a different texture or taste.  It happened to make the cake come out easier.  As you know, bundt pans can be tricky or sticky, sometimes.

Lemon bundt cake in oven

The aroma was so heavenly lemony while baking.

I also happened to bake this cake on one of the hottest days in Maine.  Temps were in the 90’s with about 80% humidity.  I had air conditioners and fans going like crazy.  I did my baking in the morning, but still heating up the kitchen was not something I really wanted to do.  Boy, “does that take the cake!”

Lemon cake close up

Lemon-Limoncello Summer Cake

2 cups cake flour

1 ½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp soda

¼ tsp salt

2 eggs

½ cup lemon yogurt

1 cup sugar

¼ cup vegetable oil (or canola)

1/4 cup water (scant)

2-3 Tablespoons of Limoncello or lemon juice

2 Lemons – 1 zested/juiced & 1 sliced thin for decoration

Glaze – “That’s the icing on the cake!”

½ cup powdered sugar

1-2 tablespoons Limoncello or lemon juice (adjust)

Lemon zest  (as desired)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

In large bowl, whisk eggs, yogurt, sugar, oil, water, lemon juice or Limoncello and some zest.  In separate bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Add dry ingredients to liquid, stirring until incorporated – do not overmix.

Prepare cake pan of choice by spraying with oil and coating with flour (I used bundt pan & some cornmeal.)  Pour batter into pan and bake about 30-35 minutes, or until top is golden and set and a tester stick comes out clean.  Cool on a cooling rack for 10-15 minutes and then carefully remove from pan.  Continue to cool until glaze is ready.

Mix the powdered sugar with Limoncello or lemon juice in small bowl until smooth.  Throw in a little zest from the lemon.   Drizzle over the cake.

Decorate with thin fresh lemon slices.

Lemon cake with lemons

Now, “you can have your cake and eat it too!”

Respectfully, Susan

2 thoughts on “Lemon-Limoncello Cake Idioms

  1. Pingback: Lemony Lemon Brownies | Dishing it out with Clarissa

Leave a Reply

