Are you ready for some football?

I love football.  I grew up watching football with my Dad, my uncles, cousins and other friends of the family.  It came in handy to know a little bit about it when the boyfriends came along.  Our high school team was the best in the County and I loved those Saturday games–maybe because I had a crush on one of the neighborhood guys that played on the team.

Football was the thing to do on a Sunday afternoon after church and a fried chicken dinner.  For me,  it was the days of Sonny Jurgensen and the Redskins, George Blanda and the Raiders, Joe Namath and the Jets, and one of my all-time favorites Dick Butkus-a guy with the reputation of being the meanest player on the Chicago Bears.   I now live in Maine and cheer for the Pats, but my roots are in Maryland so I remain a Redskins fan.

Come on over for some football and snacks

Are you ready for some football?

This past weekend I watched the Patriots whip the Houston Texans.  Last weekend I watched my other favorite team, the Redskins, get beat up by the Seattle Seahawks and saw RGIII’s knee blow out.  This weekend I’ll watch the Pats take on the Ravens.  Football and food go together—snacks and appetizers mostly.  It’s easier to jump up and down with a chicken wing in your hand opposed to spaghetti swinging from a fork.

Football snacks with PBR

Ready for Kick-Off

Here is the recipe for a very easy snack to make for a crowd –

Cheese app snacks in oven

Cheesey Onion Ring Bacon Bites

1 ¼ cups of crispy fried onion rings in the can (the kind you put on green bean casserole)

1 egg white

1 tsp red pepper flakes -(try other herbs or seasonings if you don’t want heat)

½ cup finely grated Parmesan cheese

1 level cup shredded mozzarella

1/4 cup diced bacon pieces

Preheat oven to 400°

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper

Put crispy onion rings and pieces in a bowl

Add the egg white and mix around until coated

Sprinkle with red pepper flakes or other seasoning

Add the Parmesan, mozzarella and bacon pieces

Using a small cookie scoop or your fingers, divide the mixture into small mounds on the prepared baking sheet.

Bake in the oven until the mounds are golden brown, approximately 10 minutes.

They are best served warm but can be re-heated.

Fresh baked cheese bites

  Warm, cheesey, crunchy & tasty!

I usually get about 16 out of one batch by making them a bit smaller and more uniform by using a cookie scoop.  Double the recipe, if needed.

Can’t wait for the Super Bowl!    Go Pats!

Respectfully, Susan

4 thoughts on “Are you ready for some football?

  1. I really like the personal touch….stories about you, growing up, etc…that you are injecting into your blog! Makes for interesting reading and nice connections!

Leave a Reply

