Inspired or Resolute in 2013?

Like most everyone else in the world, I have decided that it is time to do something about my weight and health.  Every year, at some point during the year, I do this.  It is a seasonal sort of housecleaning.  However, I don’t want to feel “resolved” with resolutions, I want to feel “inspired.”

Even my office colleagues are trying it.  We have a spread sheet to fill in and a point system to use.  We go weekly and the one that has the most points wins the cash pot on Monday.  We get points for drinking water, eating our fruits and veggies, even a point for <15 minutes of exercise.  This is all to promote good health and lose some weight.  I’ll let you know how I do.

StockFood_00946444

These are not my legs…wish they were.  Courtesy of StockFood

I have no healthy inspirational recipes that pop into my head, except maybe something with bacon.  No, that won’t work.  This is always a challenge to me-an area where I really have to be creative.  Being raised on meat and potatoes-with lots of butter, and down-home cooking with really delicious gooey desserts, I tend to fall back into that repertoire when I cook.

Here is a meat recipe and I chose chicken– not red meat.  The recipe is Pollo al limone e rosmarino from the Tuscan Mammas.  This is a dish I experienced in my recent trip to Italy.  The recipe is simple and the end result is delicious.  I consider it to be on the healthy side when served with wild rice and a nice green vegetable.  I made it recently for a ski group weekend.

pollo al limone e rosmarino

Pollo al limone e rosmarino

For 1 chicken:

1 T very finely minced lemon zest (2/3 lemons)

2 T very finely minced fresh rosemary leaves (2/3 stalks)

1 T sea salt

Several grinds of black pepper

3 T extra virgin olive oil

Rosemary sprigs and lemons cut in chunks

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees

Rinse chicken inside and out, dry well

Mix the salt, minced lemon zest and rosemary together

Rub chicken with olive oil and seasoned salt

Cut lemons into chunks

Place chicken on a rack in a roasting pan

Add lemons chunks and rosemary sprigs in and around the chicken

Roast at 450 degrees for 15 minutes

Reduce heat to 375 degrees and continue roasting till juices run clear when thigh is pierced; approximately 50/55 minutes longer

Let rest before carving

This is a delicious bird and with leftover meat, you can throw a little on a salad or in soup, or on some nice hearty wheat bread for your work lunch.  After a few days of cutting down, cutting back, no booze, less sweets, I am feeling inspired to carry on.  I know you can eat good food and enjoy it.  It’s all about portion control, staying active and being diligent in the food arena.

Happy New Year!  I hope you all will be inspired in a positive way this year.

Respectfully, Susan

2 thoughts on “Inspired or Resolute in 2013?

  1. Lovely inspirational message. I only suggest that one would wear a delightful, slimming, designer hostess apron while serving up the delacacies! For more info on the aforementioned aprons, one could contact M’s. Peggy Price at aprondesigner@gmail.com. Guaranteed to appear 10 lbs. slimmer! xxxx

Leave a Reply

