Lobster Cravings-Part 1

 I was craving lobster and I did not want to pay restaurant prices.  Also, I did not want to stink up the house and cook it myself.  I also knew that I had several pounds of lobster meat sitting in my freezer.  In July, my son very generously purchased 25 pounds of lobster, cooked them up for me and brought them to my house.  As soon as he arrived, I proceeded to clean out the lobster meat and freeze it. 

TIP:  Freeze the lobster meat in a container covered with milk or cream and do not keep it in the freezer any longer than 4 months. To thaw, leave in the container and let sit in refrigerator for 12 to 24  hours.  Then place the lobster meat in a colander to drain, covering the exposed lobster meat with  plastic wrap to prevent drying while it sits in fridge until ready to use.

To satisfy my craving, I made Lobster Du Jour.  This recipe was adapted from “A Treasurey of Great Recipes” by Vincent and Mary Price.  Their recipe is called Shrimp Du Jour and was a daily dish on the Philadelphia Bookbinder’s menu.  I have tweaked the recipe to fit using the pre-cooked lobster meat and used minimal seasonings so that the tender lobster meat was not overwhelmed.

Lobster du jour

2 Maine Lobsters –

Thaw pre-cooked lobster meat or use fresh steamed

Butter

Worcestershire sauce

Bread crumbs or Ritz cracker crumbs

(I use Ritz because they are buttery and salty)

Shallot

Garlic

Parsley

Salt and pepper, to taste

Parmesan cheese

1.  After thawing lobster meat and draining in refrigerator, remove the chilled meat and let sit at room temp for approximately 20 minutes.  If using freshly steamed meat, remove the meat from the body and begin preparations.

2.  In a skillet heat: 4 tablespoons butter, 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce, 1 shallot-finely chopped, 1 clove garlic-finely chopped, and ¼ cup chopped fresh parsley.  Heat and stir butter and seasonings until bubbly, but not brown.  Turn off the heat.

3.  Lay the pieces of lobster in the pan and let it warm for a minute.  Gently turn the lobster meat over and let warm through.

4.  Next, butter a large baking dish, or individual baking dishes.  Add the lobster meat to the baking dish. 

5.  Sprinkle with: ¼ cup fine dry bread crumbs or crushed Ritz crackers and ¼ cup grated Parmesan cheese.

6.  Pour melted butter from skillet over crumbs, adding more melted butter, if necessary.

7.  Put under hot broiler to brown.  Serve with a salad.   

What did I do with the rest of the lobster meat I had thawed???

It was used  for my lobster roll sandwich for lunch the next day!  

Watch for Part 2 – Lobster Cravings – Party Style!

Respecting the lobster, Susan

5 thoughts on “Lobster Cravings-Part 1

  1. Can you fly a dozen lobsters down heah to Charleston, because the lonely one in the lobster tank at the Piggly Wiggly looks like it is having withdrawal symptoms from being there for 3 1/2 weeks! Peace Out! City Market Special Events Person

Leave a Reply

