Bugatti – Buick – Bacon

A Bugatti, a Buick and Bacon….So, what do these three things have in common?…The Henry Ford Museum in Dearborn, Michigan.  What??   Isn’t that just a museum of old Henry Ford Model T’s?  Well, I’m here to tell you no….it’s a lot more than that!

I was recently on a business trip and thought I’d take in the museum while staying very close by. 

So, here’s the 1931 Bugatti Type 41 Royale Convertible

Bugatti built only six Royales – Luxury Cars

and, here is the 1963 Buick Riviera coupe

One of my first boyfriends was a “Buick” car salesman.  He had a 1969 Buick Riviera-one fine funny looking car that was a pretty blue.   It was a free ride for him as a car salesman and fun for me.   An older couple was standing by and looking at the car with me when I mentioned that fact in passing.  They asked if I eventually married that boyfriend.  No, I said, he  got booted when he no longer had a cool car for me to ride in. 

Lastly, here is the bacon…on my club sandwich… By the way, don’t even get me started on the potential bacon shortage that is being cast about in the news lately.  I knew I should have gotten my own piggy this year!  So there you have it, the 3 B’s that all come together in a rather nice fashion.

Lamy’s Diner (1946)

Lamy’s-formerly of Marlborough & Framingham, Massachusetts

I had no intentions of blogging about this trip.  I was really just going to focus on visiting my clients.  But when I saw a full size diner on display…AND…it was actually serving food, a flood of memories came roaring back to me.

 

 My Dad and I would always go to the local diner around 5:30 a.m. the morning of a trip.  We would bring home coffee and doughnuts for Mom.  In those days the coffee percolator took too long on the morning of a trip.  Dad would finish packing up the car, slam the trunk lid, and we’d hit the road in our big old Buick, with Mom sipping her coffee and eating her doughnut.  Me, I’d be in the back seat eating my second doughnut and then snoozing off, waking only to ask, “are we there yet?” 

As I walked around the section of the museum called “Driving America,” I was excited to see all of the old cars and re-live memories of some wonderful trips.  This one particular icon brought back a boatload of memories for me:

The Holiday Inn is how my Mom booked our car trips each Summer as we traveled in the late 1950’s and early 1960’s.  We’d stop every afternoon at a Holiday Inn, in some State, as we headed to our final destination vacation spot, which would of course be some Holiday Inn near the beach or attractions we wanted to see.  Each day we would stop about 2 or 3 p.m. so that I could hop in the pool and then we’d get ready for dinner and eat at the hotel’s restaurant or go out on the town.

Around the corner and to my surprise…..

…how could I not share this?  The Oscar Mayer theme song immediately popped into my head and I recalled the memory of seeing this funny car drive around the Washington D.C. Beltway in my younger years.

How about this – fifteen cents for a burger?

I remember the first time we pulled into the new McDonald’s on Rockville Pike.   Wow!  – we could get a burger, fries and coke or shake all for under $1.00.   Those were the days, baby!

At the museum, the theme of “Driving America” hit me hard.  I was lucky enough to be driven across America  by my parents.  I know I didn’t appreciate it at the time.  I realize now how much those trips really mean to me.  I only wish I could tell them that now.   If you get the opportunity, you should go to the Henry Ford Museum in Dearborn, Michigan.  If you get the opportunity to travel, even if  it is with your parents, take it.  At some point in your life you might be able to reflect on it and really appreciate it.

This successful business trip ended up being educational, foodcational and memorizational.  I covered a lot of territory by plane, car and on foot – all in just a little over 48 hours. 

Respectfully, Susan

  For those of you that like planes, trains and automobiles, here are a few more pictures 

The Flivver, Ford Motor Company, Otto Koppen, Designer 1926

1923 Canadian Pacific Snow Plow

 

 

1955 Chevrolet hardtop

And for you Hot Rod folks…

Lastly, a way cool Caddy for your way cool Daddy!

Until next time, Susan

 

2 thoughts on “Bugatti – Buick – Bacon

Leave a Reply

