The Z – word

 

It’s Zucchini time-the gardens and road side stands are overflowing.  I pulled out my zucchini recipes and decided on a Chocolate Nut Zucchini Cake-without the nuts.  I used a Nordic Ware Bundt pan that reminds me of  cathedral archways, being respectful and thankful for the zucchini. 

 

The recipe is one my Mom gave me years ago.  I do not know where she got it, but she passed it along to me sometime in the mid-1970’s.  I remember trying this recipe when newly married and having my first large garden, with Oh SOooooo large zucchinis-something I’d never experienced before.  Of course, in using this recipe for over 35+ years, I have tweaked it many times, in many ways.  See NOTES.

 

 Chocolate-Nut-Zucchini Cake

 3 squares unsweetened chocolate

3 cups unsifted all-purpose flour

1 ½ teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

4 eggs

3 cups sugar

1 ½ cups salad oil

3 cups finely grated zucchini

1 cup finely chopped walnuts or pecans

 1.  Preheat oven to 350°.  Melt chocolate over hot, not boiling water.  Let cool, but still be pourable.

 2.  Grease well and flour a 10-inch tube pan. 

 3.  Sift flour with baking powder, soda and salt – set aside.

 4.  In large bowl of electric mixer, at high speed, beat eggs until thick and light.  Gradually add sugar, ¼ cup at a time, beating well after each addition.

 5.  Add salad oil and cooled chocolate; beat until well blended.

 6.  At low speed, add sifted dry ingredients, mixing until smooth.

 7.  Add grated zucchini and nuts; with wooden spoon, stir until well combined.

 8.  Turn batter into prepared pan; bake 1 hour and 15 minutes, or until surface springs back when pressed lightly with fingertip.

 9.  Cool in pan; cool thoroughly on rack.

 10.  Before serving, if desired, sprinkle with powdered sugar.  Cut into thin slices.

 Makes 10-12 servings

 NOTES:  I substituted some of the oil by using 1 cup applesauce and ½ cup oil.  I also cut down on the sugar, using 2 ½ cups instead of 3.  I also added a sprinkle of cinnamon.  Everyone that tried it said it tasted good and had a palate-pleasing texture, not dry.  I think it tastes best served with ice cream! I know you get more than 10-12 servings with the bundt cake pan, even if you cut it into thick slices.

 Enjoy the bountiful zucchini.

Respectfully, Susan

8 thoughts on “The Z – word

  1. I remember making this maybe 30 years. I will go to the farmer’s market tomorrow to get the zucchini. Thanks for reminding me of this great recipe.
    I have so enjoyed your blog. It is creative, funny, sometimes touching, and has great recipes.

  2. This will be served at my new house in Mercer on Labor Day weekend!!! Sound wonderful. I have an entire cookbook of zucchini recipes but this sounds better than anything in there. K

  3. This sounds delicious. I so enjoyed meeting you yesterday at the tour and will look forward to further blog posts. I also loved the story about your Aunt Edna. Thank you for sharing information that helped shape your perspectives and inspiration.

Leave a Reply

