Cake Pops – Seriously?

Cake Pops…what can I say about cake pops?  Well, they should be made by the younger, more artsy/crafty/creatives that are very patient when baking and decorating.  As you will see from my pictures, this project did not turn out as well as I had hoped.  In fact, there was a deep lack of RESPECT that surfaced, as well as a question concerning my ability to handle cake pops.  However, I pushed on, since this was a test of a new pan and new recipe.  Plus, no matter what, these pops were going to the office for a birthday celebration. 

 Happy Birthday To My Office Friend

 The recipe was on the back of the Nordic Ware Cake Pops Baking Pan package.  The package included the pan and cake pop sticks with a simple recipe.  The package also had a pretty picture on the front of nice smallish roundish cake pops with a velvety looking frosting and sprinkles.  Mine, of course, looked nothing like the picture on the package.

  Cake Pops???

 I will say, even though they didn’t look so great, the fudginess taste was delicious.   Here is the recipe, adapted from the Nordic Ware packaging.  I know this can be done because Nordic Ware is very reputable and they test all their products and recipes.  I believe I had a process malfunction that day.

 Fudgy Cake Pops

 ¾ cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

½ cup butter

¾ cup sugar

3 Tbsp cocoa

2 eggs

¾ cup flour

¼ tsp salt

24 lollipop or cake pop sticks

12 oz. chocolate bark coating (candy making chips)

Assorted sprinkles

Heat oven to 325°F.  Grease pan and set aside. 

NOTE: this pan has a good coating and I followed the directions.  However, you might be able to skip that step.  I used too much grease.

Nordic Ware Cake Pops Baking Pan

In medium saucepan, over low heat, melt chocolate chips and butter together, stir until smooth.  Remove from heat and pour into medium bowl.  Add sugar and cocoa; mix until blended.  Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition.  Add flour and salt; stir until blended.  Spoon batter into bottom half of pan (without holes) filling each well so it mounds over the top of the pan. 

NOTE: You can do this with this batter- it is thick and holds together – I used a  small cookie batter scoop.

 Cake Pops-Batch 1 a little heavy

 Place top half of pan on top and secure with keys-those little silver metal thingies on the side of the pan.  Bake for 15-18 minutes, until toothpick comes out almost clean. 

NOTE:  I didn’t test with the toothpick, plus I overfilled the pan on some.

Oh no!  … leakage 

Cool 5 minutes in pan, remove cake pops from pan to cool completely.

NOTE:  Mine flattened on the cooling rack.

 Melt chocolate according to package direction.  (By this they mean the candy making chips, which I did not have on hand.)  Dip stick into melted chocolate and insert into pops; repeat with all cakes.  Allow chocolate to cool to secure stick in place.  Dip cake pops in melted chocolate, spinning to let excess chocolate drip off.  Decorate with sprinkles if desired.  Place on parchment paper to set.

NOTE:  I didn’t use their method and I made a mistake by not doing so.  Instead, I made a ganache and tried the dipping-it just didn’t work.  So, I poured the ganache over the pops, because they were already flat, not round.  What a mess!

Makes about 24 cake pops.

NOTE:  They were fudgy and delicious – just a little too heavy to swirl in  chocolate and decorate nicely.   I will try this again.  Beware… next birthday office friend. 

Respectfully,   Susan

8 thoughts on “Cake Pops – Seriously?

  1. Haha, that is awesome! It’s refreshing to see that some techniques just don’t work as well as you want them to… Mine are never as pretty as the picture 🙂

  2. I’m still impressed! I love the pink cake pop from Starbucks, and I would never attempt this because it’s too easy to just buy one. All that really counts is that they were delicious.

  3. I found your site because I was looking for this recipe to use again with the pan. My pops turned out exactly like yours when I tried. And I have had success making pops the regular way. This time, I am using them to make brownie bites with Christmas sprinkles and skipping the whole cake on a stick fiasco.

Leave a Reply

