Father’s Day and a cake named Harvey

This is respectfully dedicated to Fathers and Grandfathers everywhere. 

 

  My Dad loved any kind of desserts, especially Mom’s cakes and homemade vanilla ice cream.  My Dad loved my Mom like crazy, and he loved me to the point of spoiling me rotten.   I’m an only child and I was a Daddy’s girl. 

My Dad was a large man, full of confidence with a great sense of humor.  He taught me to stand up for myself, to be confident, to be strong, and to be honest to myself and others.   Even when I was a “chubette” (as the local store called a particular brand of the large-sized children’s clothes), he would let me stand on the old hand-crank ice cream machine.  He said he needed the weight to hold it steady.  The rock salt would melt the ice in that big wooden bucket as he turned the handle.   I’m sure he worried a bit that my weight just might break the bucket, but he never said a word about it. 

 Hand-Crank Ice Cream Bucket with Homemade Ice Cream   

With permission/#00650920 StockFood/Richardson

This Sunday, June 17th  is Father’s Day.  Respect your Dad.  Call him, visit him, remember him.   I miss my Dad and wish he was still here.  He only had time to enjoy his retirement for one year and know his only grandson for four.  Fathers and Grandfathers do an important job.  My son will be taking his Father on their annual fishing trip.

Happy Father’s Day

  To celebrate, I  made a special cake this week  for my husband, because he is a good Father to our son.  It’s called a  “Harvey Wallbanger” cake, a  throw back to that cocktail made famous in the 70’s using Galliano liqueur.

 Harvey Wallbanger Cake 

 The recipe I used for the cake was taken directly from my favorite baking book right now, “Booze Cakes: Confections Spiked with Spirits, Wine and Beer” by Terry Lee Stone and Krystina Castella.   The recipes in this book give you a “booze meter” and explain the percent of  alcohol that stays in whatever you are baking.  This cake had a “Totally Tipsy” boozy rating with recipe on p. 57.    

A MISTAKE:  Do not try to do two recipes at once while having a cocktail.  I had other ingredients set aside to make cookies for ice cream sandwiches.  I mistakenly added an additional 1/3 cup of semi-melted butter to this cake, instead of saving it for my cookie batter.  This was done after sipping through just one Harvey Wallbanger cocktail.   It did not ruin the cake.  It was taste tested by office colleagues. They said… “can smell the booze and tastes great!” 

Ingredients

1 box yellow cake mix

1 (3.3 ounce) box vanilla instant pudding

1/2 cup vegetable oil

4 eggs

1/4 cup vodka

1/4 cup Galliano liqueur

3/4 cup orange juice

Orange Glaze (#1)

1/4 cup orange juice

1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar

Boozy Orange Glaze (#2)

1 cup confectioners’ sugar

1 tablespoon orange juice

1 tablespoon vodka

1 tablespoon Galliano liqueur

Finishing

1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar, optional

1 orange, sliced

Note:  I also added orange zest to cake mix and glaze.

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour a 10-inch Bundt pan

In a mixing bowl, beat cake mix, instant pudding powder, vegetable oil, eggs, vodka, Galliano, and orange juice for 4 minutes, or until smooth.  Pour batter into the pan.  Bake 45 to 50 minutes, or until golden brown.

Finish by choosing the glaze you desire.  In a bowl, combine all ingredients and mix until smooth and creamy.  Drizzle over cake.  Alternatively, you can garnish with orange slices or simply dust with confectioners’ sugar.   NOTE:  I used the Boozy Orange Glaze (#2 above).

From the Booze Cakes book, “…this is one drunk Bundt cake that is dead easy to make!  It’s a light, moist, absolutely booze-drenched crowd-pleaser.”  This is a cookbook for everyone that likes to eat their booze.  I highly recommend it.

 My finished cake – after 2 Harvey Wallbangers

Enjoy the day and please bake responsibly.

Respectfully, Susan

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day and a cake named Harvey

Leave a Reply

