Mother’s Day

Sunday, May 13th Mother’s Day will be celebrated.  We all have Mothers.  On this day be respectful and honor your Mother.  Pay your respects in thought, word or deed.  Do it with love, patience and understanding.  I miss my Mom and will toast to her memory on this day.  I will continue on in my thoughts and memories of my Mom, my upbringing and family around me.  I will share more stories and recipes until you all cry “ENOUGH ALREADY!”

Mary Phoebus dressed for work, 1958.

My Mom was a working Mom – something that was unusual for the early 50’s.  Most ads at that time catered to the stay-at-home “housewife” offering items to make their lives easier in the kitchen and around the house.  My Mom worked for 35+ years at the local Courthouse.  For her, cooking was just a necessity, not a real pleasure.

That meant that for me that my Dad would drop me off super early in the morning at Aunt Edna’s house (the old homestead I spoke of in the About section) and then he would pick me up in the later afternoon.  We would get home and Mom would arrive shortly thereafter and get supper started.  She’d take off her heels and I was in charge of either getting her slippers or throwing them down the stairs to her.  She’d tie on her apron and go at it.

She was not a “scratch” cook, except on the weekends.  Sunday lunch was our big family meal after church.  Sometimes she’d plan a meatloaf that Dad would stick in the oven mid-morning and it would be ready when we got home from church.  Other times, Mom would prep the chicken pieces on Saturday night and place in salt water.  She was brining at the time, and just not aware of it.  Dad made the best fried chicken ever and Mom made the best gravy ever.

We would eat leftovers on Monday and Tuesday usually and by Wednesday we might be using a Chef Boyardee spaghetti dinner in a box.  Because she was a working Mom, she did try some of the conveniences offered at that time.  This box dinner contained the dry spaghetti noodles, the can of sauce and a shaker of cheese.  Not near enough for my large Dad, so it was supplemented with Wonder Bread and real butter.  Dessert might be jell-o or homemade chocolate pudding.

Fridays were always the best night.  When Dad picked me up from Aunt Edna’s after his work day, we had to do the grocery shopping on the way home.  No cooking that night.  For dinner, we’d stop and get a fresh pizza, or maybe crab cake sandwiches at the local bar, or we’d go out.  I think my parents were a little ahead of the times, for which I am grateful.

 C. N. Phoebus 1957

As for my Mother’s Day, I will not be cooking. I have hopes of seeing my son and his new bride.  My wish is that we will have some time to get caught up and that he will make the time to prepare a meal for me, with the help of his wife and my husband.

The following recipes I found in my Mom’s recipe box.  The Popover one I know she copied from some magazine or article some time ago.  The Jelly Roll was typed on an index card and captioned Jelly Roll (Edna’s Recipe).

Super Popover

Image used with permission from StockFood.

© StockFood/ Keller +Keller 00694072.

Use a cast iron skillet – 9 or 10 inches

½ cup flour

½ cup milk

3 eggs

4 Tablespoons butter

Preheat oven to 375°

Place the butter in the cast iron skillet.  Heat the butter until it sizzles, but not brown.

While butter is heating, mix the flour, milk and eggs together and let rest.  When butter is ready, pour the egg mixture into the hot skillet and return to oven.

Bake for 13-15 minutes

It will poof up like a big popover.

Slice and remove from skillet.

Drizzle on some lemon juice and sprinkle with powdered sugar

Option:  spread with a little jam and sprinkle with powdered sugar

Note:  This is a good breakfast treat.  This is also known as a “Dutch Baby” or a “German Pancake.”

Jelly Roll (Edna’s Recipe)

Image used with permission from StockFood.

© StockFood/ Eising Food Photography 00453507

© StockFood/ Food Image Source/ Peter Hogg 00656539.

4 eggs (room temp)

¾ cup sugar

¾ cup sifted flour

¾ tsp baking powder

¼ tsp salt

1 tsp vanilla

Mix eggs on high speed till foamy.  Beat in sugar slowly, continue beating until very thick and light colored.  Fold in flour and dry ingredients, vanilla.  Bake 13 minutes or until light brown.  Turn out on lightly dusted dish towel with 10X sugar on it.  Oven 400°.  Line pan with wax paper. Pan size 15x10x1, cut paper ½” smaller.

Note:  I do remember eating jelly roll as a dessert sometimes.  The directions drop off of Mom’s recipe card and I guess it is assumed that you smear the baked roll (sponge cake really) with jelly and cream, roll it up, and sprinkle with 10X sugar.

I hope that everyone will enjoy this Mother’s Day.

 

Respectfully,

Susan

3 thoughts on “Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

